Looking for the best big and tall office chair? You’re in the right place. Spending endless hours in an office chair can be unpleasant and uncomfortable if the chair you’re in doesn’t fit you well. If you’re a tall or bigger person (or both), you probably know what we’re talking about. 

Quality and comfortable office chair can make your workday easier and prevent some health problems in the future. So, if you’re a person who is big and tall, what should you do if you find regular office chairs too small and inconvenient?

Top Pick

HON

Wave Big and Tall Mesh Office Chair

Best Value

SIHOO

Ergonomic Computer Chair

Premium Pick

Steelcase

Gesture Chair

We are supported by our readers. We may earn an affiliate commission at no extra cost to you if you buy through a link on this page. Learn more

Even though there are tons of different office chairs on the market, the number of options to fit this body type is a bit limited. Of course, there’s no magic chair that would be a great fit for everyone. But, we set out on a mission to find the top nine best big and tall office chairs to help you enhance your work setup. 

While reviewing the best heavy-duty office chairs, we considered the chair’s weight capacity, dimensions, comfort, and style. Dive in to learn all the details on our top picks.

Top 10 Best Bigg & Tall Office Chairs

  1. Top Pick: The HON Wave Mesh Executive Chair 
  2. Premium Pick: Steelcase Gesture
  3. Best Value: SIHOO Ergonomic Office Chair
  4. Best Big and Tall Chair for Lumbar Support: Duramont Ergonomic Office Chair
  5. Great for Distributing Pressure: Samofu Ergonomic Office Chair
  6. Best Adjustable Big and Tall Office Chair: XUER Ergonomic Office Chair
  7. Best Wide Seat Pick: BOLISS Ergonomic Office Chair
  8. Offers Great Support: ZUERST Ergonomic Office Chair
  9. Best for Gaming: VON RACER Big & Tall Gaming Office Chair

After analyzing, testing and reviewing the chairs included in this list, we’re ready to present you with the 9 best big and tall ergonomic office chairs to hopefully help you find the chair that most suits your needs.

In This Article

A Quick Look at the Best Big & Tall Office Chairs

Our table below gives a quick look at our top options for the best big and tall office chairs. It has a look at our 9 favorite across a number of categories. Included are our selections for the top pick, premium pick, best value, best wide seat, and more. 

Pick

Name

Specs

Rating

Check Price

Top Pick

HON Wave Mesh Executive Chair

  • Max 450 lbs
  • Mesh
  • High Back
  • Black Only

9.6/10

Check Price

 

>> Read Review

Premium Pick

Steelcase Gesture

  • Max 400 lbs
  • Material
  • High Back
  • Licorice

9.7/10

Check Price

 

>> Read Review

Best Value

SIHOO

  • Max 350 lbs
  • Fabric Seat, Mesh Back
  • High Back
  • Two Colors

9.4/10

Check Price

 

>> Read Review

Best Lumbar Support

Duramont

  • Max 330 lbs
  • Mesh
  • High Back
  • Black Only

9.2/10

Check Price

 

>> Read Review

Great for Distributing Pressure

Samofu

  • Max 350 lbs
  • Mesh
  • High Back
  • Black Only

9.1/10

Check Price

 

>> Read Review

Best Adjustable

XUER

  • Max 330 lbs
  • Fabric Seat, Mesh Back
  • High Back
  • Black Only

8.9/10

Check Price

 

>> Read Review

Best Wide Seat

BOLISS

  • Max 400 lbs
  • Foam Seat, Mesh Back
  • Mid Back
  • Black Only

9.0/10

Check Price

 

>> Read Review

Great Support

ZUERST

  • Max 330 lbs
  • Mesh
  • High Back
  • Black Only

8.8/10

Check Price

 

>> Read Review

Best for Gaming

VON RACER Gaming Office Chair

  • Max 400 lbs
  • Leather
  • High Back
  • Black Only

8.8/10

Check Price

 

>> Read Review

The HON Wave Big and Tall Executive chair comes in as top pick because of it’s amazing combination of comfort, durability, and price. 

The chair features a robust 450 lb weight capacity, which is ideal for bigger and taller people. You can also enjoy all the ergonomic features the HON office chair provides. It has adjustable reclining and armrests as well as customizable lower back support and pneumatic height adjustment. In short, this chair will take good care of your posture during workdays. 

Thanks to the five-star resin base and durable wheels, this high back office chair will become one of your favorite office items. Plus, you’ll also get a HON 5-year Limited Warranty. So, you can be safe in case something goes wrong with your chair. 

If you’re not a fan of leather-like office chairs, this big and tall mesh office chair is a great choice for you. The light breathable material will feel nice on your back and prevent it from sweating. 

The HON big and tall executive chair will easily adapt to your body and be your best office friend for years. 

Read more: Best standing desks for a home office

KEY FEATURES:

  • Leather, Fabric
  • Supports up to 450 lbs
  • 5-year warranty

SPECIFICATIONS:

  • Weight: 52.8 pounds
  • Dimensions: 25.63 x 30.25 x 42.88 inches
  • Weight Capacity: 450 lbs

PROS:

  • Adjustable back, height, and armrests
  • Ergonomic design and high-quality material
  • Sandwich mesh cushion with two layers of padding

CONS:

  • The chair can feel stiffer than most regular chairs

Steelcase is known for making high quality office chairs and this one is no exception. In fact during our testing, we thought this was better chair than our top pick, the HON Wave. So why is it number two? The price. At nearly $1,000, it’s an investment and significantly more than most chairs. However, if it’s an investment you can afford, you’ll be happy you did. 

The Steelcase Gesture features multiple adjustment options such as seat depth, arms, seat height, reclining tension, and a 4 position recline line. Additionally, we found it to be the most comfortable chair we tried. 

This chair can support up to 400 lbs, much more than regular office chairs that usually support only up to 250 lbs. So, if you’re a big guy, you should have no problems with the weight capacity.

Thanks in part to Steelcase’s proprietary seat technology, if you suffer from back and leg pain, sitting in this chair for hours won’t feel like torture for your body. 

Finally, the chair comes assembled so as soon as it’s delivered, you’ll be ready to enjoy it. 

Read more: Best Reclining Office Chairs with Footrests

KEY FEATURES:

  • Designed to move and adapt with your body
  • Fully adjustable arms with 360 degree range of motion
  • 4 position recline lock

SPECIFICATIONS:

  • Weight: 61 lbs
  • Dimensions: 23.6 x 34.6 x 44.2 inches
  • Weight capacity: 400 lbs

PROS:

  • Ergonomic design for posture and reducing pain
  • Most comfortable big and tall chair we reviewed
  • 12 year warranty
  • Comes full assembled

CONS:

  • Expensive

Another ergonomic office chair that passed our test is this product by SIHOO, which is specifically suited for big and tall people. First of all, this computer chair offers 5 different types of adjustments that can greatly help you find the most comfortable position to work long hours. More specifically, we’re talking about headrest adjustments, back support adjustments, seat height adjustments, tilt adjustments, and finally armrest adjustments. By customizing all these features, you’ll be able to find the perfect positioning to sit comfortably for long spans of time.

However, adjustments alone aren’t enough to make an office chair comfortable. We also need to take breathability into consideration. In this regard, this SIHOO chair features a premium backrest with mesh fabric that keeps your skin cool and fresh by letting air circulate to eliminate sweat and moisture after hours of use.

Moving on, the W-shaped design of the seat is wide and comfortable, and it can support up to 330 lbs. The front edge has a waterfall design, which helps relieve pressure on your legs. Moreover, the high-density, sponge filled cushion isn’t likely to lose its original shape over time.

As a negative note, we found this chair might lose a bit of stability when fully extended.

KEY FEATURES:

  • 5 types of adjustments
  • S-shaped backrest
  • W-shaped seat
  • Breathable mesh

SPECIFICATIONS:

  • Dimensions: ‎27.52 x 27.52 x 42.09 inches
  • Material: Premium mesh fabric
  • Weight capacity: 330 lbs

PROS:

  • Good price
  • Durable
  • Front edge waterfall design
  • High-density, sponge filled cushion

CONS:

  • The chair might lose stability when fully extended

If you’re looking to buy a big and tall chair that was reviewed by more than four thousand people, then the Duramont big and tall executive office chair is the one for you. Slightly more expensive than the previous chair on our list, this ergonomic option is another great option if you want to be able to make lots of adjustments when seated.

Starting from the top, the headrest of the chair can be adjusted both in terms of angle and height, then the armrest can be adjusted in both height and distance from the seat. Moving on, you can modify the lumbar support height, as well as the seat height and finally the backrest tilt. 

More specifically, this chair offers premium back support by letting you move the lumbar support in and out, up and down, and also offering a reclining feature to either tilt the backrest back or sit straight.

To stay cool throughout the day, the back of this ergonomic chair is made of breathable mesh which promotes air circulation, effectively getting rid of inconvenient sweat. Overall, this chair is a good high back office chair, but we also think the armrest could have a bit more padding on them.

KEY FEATURES:

  • Adjustable lumbar support
  • Adjustable headrest
  • Adjustable height and seat
  • Breathable mesh

SPECIFICATIONS:

  • Dimensions: ‎26 x 23.6 x 42 inches
  • Material: Mesh fabric
  • Weight capacity: 330 lbs

PROS:

  • Not too expensive for the range of features offered
  • Has several different adjustments available for the lumbar support
  • Rollerblade caster wheels
  • Easy to install

CONS:

  • The armrest could have a bit more padding

If you’re still struggling to find a chair suited for big and tall people, then this product by Samofu might just be what you were looking for. With a 2.4-inch height adjustable backrest and a 90°-135° lockable reclining function, this ergonomic office chair offers a large variety of positions to help you stay comfortable during your work.

More specifically, the back can be adjusted in four different levels to easily adapt to various heights, and this, coupled with the chance to adjust the height and angle of the headrest, makes the Samofu chair fit the human body’s physiological curve, helping you keep a natural and correct posture.

In terms of breathability, the mesh backrest lets air circulate to keep you fresh throughout the day, while talking about seating area, the seat can be raised or lowered to achieve the most comfortable position for you and its waterfall front can distribute pressure evenly on your lower body, reducing stress on your thighs and knees.

All the tools you need to assemble the chair are provided, and the product comes with a 5-year warranty.

On the negative side, although the armrests can be adjusted in height, we found that they might sit a bit too close together at only 18-inch apart. In case armrests are a problem for you, here you can find our review of the best armless office chairs.

KEY FEATURES:

  • Adjustable backrest
  • Adjustable lumbar section
  • Adjustable headrest
  • 360-degree swivel

SPECIFICATIONS:

  • Dimensions: 30 x 25 x 25 inches
  • Material: Mesh fabric
  • Weight capacity: 350 lbs

PROS:

  • Easy to assemble
  • Waterfall front
  • Adjustable armrests
  • 5-year warranty

CONS:

  • The armrests might be too close to each other

Another great option in terms of office chairs for big and tall people is this ergonomic chair by XUER. The chair has a simple yet modern design that will fit any interior and make your office look more stylish. While completing your daily tasks, you will also enjoy the comfort of a wide W-shaped seat made of sponge and covered in breathable mesh. This cushion also features a waterfall front to effectively reduce pressure when sitting at a desk.

With a variety of adjustments available, such as the free rotating headrest, the adjustable armrests covered in PU, and a tilt function, this heavy-duty chair can surely help you find and keep a comfortable position.

In terms of assembly, the process should only take around 20 minutes and it’s quite easy if you follow the instructions given in the manual. All tools required are included in the price.

Although this chair offers a good number of pros for around $250, we noticed that the headrest, though easily adjustable, tends to be a bit wobbly due to the way it’s attached to the base at the back of the chair.

KEY FEATURES:

  • 360-degree swivel
  • Adjustable headrest
  • Adjustable height and tilt
  • Adjustable armrests
  • Breathable

SPECIFICATIONS:

  • Dimensions: 28.3 x 26.9 x 51 inches
  • Material: Mesh
  • Weight capacity: 330 lbs

PROS:

  • Lots of adjustments available
  • Heavy-duty and durable
  • Easy to assemble
  • Waterfall front
  • W-shaped seat

CONS:

  • The headrest might be a bit wobbly

For less than $200, this modern big and tall mesh office chair is a perfect choice if you’re looking for something simple and practical. It supports up to 400 lbs and lets bigger people feel comfortable while sitting in the chair the whole day.

The durable mesh back and the wide, thick and breathable padded seat will assure your optimal comfort during the usual workdays. Plus, it’ll prevent your back from sweating or overheating and, thus, help you avoid uncomfortable situations.

With adjustable armrests and height, this chair can be locked at a large number of angles to help you find the most comfortable position. Furthermore, the lumbar support design effectively protects your spine while relieving pain when working.

Lastly, the BOLISS chair, other than being one of the cheapest options on our list, has a 360-degree swivel and it comes with a 36-month warranty in case anything goes wrong with your purchase.

Overall, this is a great option for the price you’re paying, but we do need to say the lumbar section of the chair cannot be adjusted to suit a person’s specific needs. However, you can check our review of the best office chair cushions to find a solution for this problem. 

KEY FEATURES:

  • 360-degree swivel
  • Adjustable height
  • Adjustable armrests
  • Breathable mesh

SPECIFICATIONS:

  • Dimensions: 25.4 x 28.1 x 37 inches
  • Material: Mesh fabric
  • Weight capacity: 400 lbs

PROS:

  • Great price
  • 36-month warranty
  • Thick and wide seat
  • Special lumbar support design

CONS:

  • The lumbar section can’t be adjusted

With a weight capacity of 330 lbs, this ergonomic office chair will help you get through many working hours thanks to its number of customizable options. This product by Zuerst has 5 major supporting points; head, shoulders, back, hips, and hands.

Starting from the top we can find an adjustable 2D headrest, lumbar support for your lower back, adjustable armrests for your arms and hands, and finally a gas lift for height adjustments.

Sitting for several hours a day in the summer won’t be a problem thanks to the chair’s mesh high back and seat cushion. The material will let air circulate, allowing your skin to breathe and stay fresh and cool. Moreover, the seat’s high resilience prevents it from easily collapsing and losing its original shape.

The main problem we’ve found with this chair occurred during the assembly process. While the manufacturer includes a manual with the instructions, there are a couple steps that proved to be a bit unclear.

KEY FEATURES:

  • 5 support points
  • Adjustable height
  • Adjustable headrest
  • 360-degree swivel

SPECIFICATIONS:

  • Dimensions: 20 x 27.56 x 48.03 inches
  • Material: Mesh fabric
  • Weight capacity: 330 lbs

PROS:

  • Can lock at any angle in the reclining range
  • Lets your skin breathe
  • High resilience seat cushion
  • Heavy-duty chair

CONS:

  • The set up instructions might be a bit unclear

With a weight capacity of 330 lbs, this ergonomic office gaming chair will help you get through many working hours thanks to its number of customizable options. This product by Zuerst has 5 major supporting points; head, shoulders, back, hips, and hands.

Starting from the top we can find an adjustable 2D headrest, lumbar support for your lower back, adjustable armrests for your arms and hands, and finally a gas lift for height adjustments.

Sitting for several hours a day in the summer won’t be a problem thanks to the chair’s mesh high back and seat cushion. The material will let air circulate, allowing your skin to breathe and stay fresh and cool. Moreover, the seat’s high resilience prevents it from easily collapsing and losing its original shape.

The main problem we’ve found with this chair occurred during the assembly process. While the manufacturer includes a manual with the instructions, there are a couple steps that proved to be a bit unclear.

Read more: Best desks under $50

KEY FEATURES:

  • Supports up to 400 lbs
  • Leather material

SPECIFICATIONS:

  • Weight: 56.2 pounds
  • Dimensions: 25.4 x 28.6 x 51.1 inches
  • Weight Capacity: 400 lbs

PROS:

  • Suitable for both working and playing video games
  • Strong metal frame
  • Modern design
  • Quality faux leather upholstery

CONS:

  • The armrests might feel too stiff at the beginning

Things to Consider Before Buying a Big and Tall Office Chair

Are you tired of uncomfortable traditional office chairs and want to opt for a big and tall chair that would provide you with ultimate comfort during the workday? A chair designed for a bigger or taller person could be crucial in a better, more comfortable workspace. Here’s what you need to know before you make the final decision:

Weight Capacity

Depending on your weight, you may want and office chair that supports 400 lbs or more. It’s one of the main advantages of these types of chairs. According to ANSI/BIFMA standards for large occupant office chairs, 400 lbs. is the threshold for a male. They’re a leader in office furniture standards and because of that, many of the chairs on our list meet that criteria. 

Additionally, even if you’re not 400 lbs. or more, it’s a sign that the chair is study and well built. Speaking of which…

Construction, Durability, and the Base

Being a bigger person means putting more strain on an office chair. If you sit to work for most of the day, it just compiles. Because of that, you want to make sure your new chair is built to talk and can support a big and/or tall person.

One of the most important aspects to look at is the base. For optimal support, you’ll want a 5-star base that’s made from reinforced resin or heavy-duty metal. You’ll also want smooth dual wheel casters which can swivel 360 degrees.

Finally, for any chair you’re considering buying, be sure to look at customer reviews to see if they reported any problems with durability.

Seat Width and Depth

If you’re a bigger guy or a bigger person, you want to make sure you’re going to fit in the chair that you buy. If you want to avoid constant numbing, endure that your chair wide enough for you to spend hours sitting in it. However, also make sure it’s not too wide.

ANSI/BIFMA guidelines say that the preferable seat width is 22 inches. We recommend a minimum backrest depth of 20 inches and a seat depth of at least 19 inches.

Read more: Best office chairs for heavy people

Back Height

If you’re over 6 ft tall, then having a suitable seat back is a must. Ensure your new big and tall chair has an adjustable seat height to fir your unique body type.

Cushioning

This is twofold. First, if you sit to work for long hours, you’re going to want to be comfortable. There’s not much worse than having a lousy cushion when you’re working at your desk.

Second, you’re going to want something that will last. Plenty of office chairs that we’ve tested feel great but then after a week or two of use, the cushion wears down and it feels like you’re sitting on wood.

With that in mind, you want to choose a chair with a cushion that’s made of high-density foam so it will be able to keep its shape and support. We recommend a cushion thickness of at least 2.5 inches, if not more. If you’re 350 lbs. or more, consider 3 inches as a cushioning threshold.

Materials

This can be subjective — as in, it’s up to you! Some people prefer a leather, PU leather chair, or bonded leather desk chair while other prefer fabric. Some folks like a mesh back as its the most breathable. We recommend going with what you prefer, but if you’re unsure, consider the following:

  • Do you get hot easily? If you do, fabric and mesh should be your top choices.
  • Do you sweat often? Like the bullet above, you’ll want to go with fabric and mesh.
  • How important is the look? This is totally personal preference. But think about how much you prefer style over substance.

Read more: Best leather office chair

Ergonomic Design

If you truly care about your back, legs, and arms, you should opt for a desk chair that offers an ergonomic design and helps you support a correct posture. Here are some features to look for to ensure an ergonomic big and tall chair:

  • Lumbar support – Any good office chair should come with lumbar support, but it’s especially important with a big and tall chair. This feature is a way to help avoid back pain. What you’re looking for is the S-shape frame in the back to mimic a spine. Often times there will be support behind mesh or extra padding.
  • Adjustable Armrests – Getting your chair’s armrests to the proper level and position is key to your comfort. You’d be surprised at how uncomfortable it can be with them in the wrong position. When shopping for a chair, check for this feature and for the amount they can adjust.
  • Adjustable Height – This is another standard on most chairs. But, like the armrests, having the right chair height is key to comfort. Having it at the wrong height for your computer desk can lead to pain in your knees, arms, or other areas.
  • Tilt Tension Control – While not having this may not impact your health or ergonomics, it’ll certainly help your comfort. If you want a chair that can rock back and forth, you’ll want to make sure you can adjust that ability.
  • Seat Design – This is another feature which can play a crucial role in your health and comfort while working. Not having proper seat design can lead to more pressure on the back of your thighs which can cause aches and pains. Additionally, it can help keep circulation. We look for a waterfall seat — a seat which slopes downward.

Warranty

Bigger and taller people are more prone to breaking their chairs. That’s why you should check the warranty and return policy before you purchase a tall and big task chair.

How to Best Measure Chair Seat Size for your Body

As a big and tall person, major factor to consider when buying an office chair is the size and shape of your seat. It needs to be big enough to properly support you while you work all day long but not so big where everything feels out of place. 

Below is a 4-step guide to make sure you get the ideal seat dimensions before buying your next task chair.

  • Step 1: Sit up straight in any chair, with your back flat against the cushion and tailbone gently resting towards its upright position. Open thighs slightly to form an “v” shape as you would when seated normally for maximum comfort.
  • Step 2: Calculate the ideal chair seat depth for you. To find out what seat depth is perfect for you, measure the distance from your tailbone (where it touches the backrest) to just below where those inner thighs meet. Then, subtract an inch or two. This will comfortable support your bottom and allow proper blood circulation.
  • Step 3: To find out what seat width will work best for you, first sit down and make sure that your thighs are open to their normal amount. Next measure the distance across the lateral area of your thighs before they drop off an edge (assume ideal depth), then add 2 inches If it feels right after analyzing all these numbers but still not quite matched up yet – don’t worry; people are different and may require differing amounts depending upon how large or small you are.
  • Step 4: Now you know the ideal seat dimensions for your body! Ensure dimensions of the chair you’re considering are close to your numbers.

Bottom Line on Big & Tall Office Chairs

Picking a proper big and tall office chair can take a while. However, once you lay your eyes on one of the chair models, make sure you check its weight capacity as well as the seat width and back height. 

If you want your chair to serve you for a long time, don’t forget to check its warranty. Of course, there’s no single best office chair that would fit every bigger or taller person. Yet, it’s still possible to find the one that would fit your body type the most. 

We hope that our comprehensive guide to the top nine best office chairs will help you better understand the office chairs and make the right purchase. If you have any questions or concerns, don’t hesitate to let us know.

FAQs

What’s the best big and tall office chair? 

We rated the Hon Wave Mesh Executive chair as the best office chair for big and tall people because of its combination of weight capacity, comfort, durability, and price. 

This chair, and others on this list, allow you the freedom of sitting while maintaining proper posture, all thanks in part from a wide dimension seat depth or high-weight capacity.

How should a big and/or tall person choose an office chair?

When choosing a big and tall office chair you’ll need to pay extra attention to factors such as seat width. In terms of seat width, we recommend something around 16 inches or more.

How high should the backrest be?

The height of the chair is not as important, but it’s definitely better if the chair offers headrest adjustments. If it doesn’t come with a headrest, then the height of the chair becomes a secondary factor.

What is a good seat height for tall people?

It mostly depends on how tall you are. For instance, a 6 ft. 3 inches person might need a seat height of around 20 inches, while a 7 ft. 3 inches person should go for a 24 inches seat height. In general, we suggest going for a chair that has a maximum height of at 24 inches.

Other Articles You May Like:

How We Review: Our Office Chair Ratings Methodology

At Overheard on Conference Calls, we take pride in how we review office chairs. Our team of office chair experts spend hours researching and reviewing dozens of products before they even start writing their review or article. Our goal is to bring you honest and unbiased information to help you make an informed choice that will be the best for you. Our recommendations are not for sale and they are not influenced by any of the manufacturers we review. 

When reviewing an office chair, there are numerous factors we analyze to determine our recommendations. Here are our four most important:

  • Comfort: Comfort is key to a good office chair. It’s likely you’ll be sitting in it for hours so you’ll want something that won’t cause you aches and pains after hours of use. We gauge comfort by testing for 4+ hours as well as looking at the thickness of the seat cushion and its material.
  • Durability: Not all office chairs are built the same. Our durability factor looks at the quality of the materials and how sturdy the chair is after assembly. Because we have a limited tested period, we also conduct customer research of longtime users.
  • Lumbar Support: While this is an ergonomic feature, we made this its own separate rating factor because of how important it is to your overall posture, health, and comfort. We analyze each chair for its lumbar support or lack thereof. 
  • Ergonomic Features: In addition to lumbar support, we also look at other ergonomic features such as the armrests, height adjustment, reclining, seat ergonomics, and more. The better it is for your ergonomics and the more features/adjustability, the better. 

Why isn’t price included on that list? Fair question! We do consider price in the order of our recommendations but because everyone has their own budget in mind, we won’t rule a chair in or out just because it has premium or budget price. 

Our team has researched and reviewed hundreds of chairs and we’re confident in our recommendations. We strive to only recommend the best products and we periodically refresh our reviews and rankings.

Eric Moore

Eric Moore is the owner of Overheard on Conference Calls. As a corporate veteran, he's seen and heard it all. And when it comes to office chairs, desks, and accessories, he's used it all. As a former office furniture sales rep, he bring his expertise to provide readers the knowledge to choose the right products for them.